A Bit of History
With a history spanning more than 121 years the Prince Patrick was built on the site of an earlier hotel (owned by Richard Taylor) originally known as the Lancashire Arms in 1865. In 1867 it changed names to the Galatea before coming Armstrong’s Hotel in 1873 then the New Sydney in 1875-1882. Between the years 1882-1887 Samuel Lyons built the Prince Patrick and the first licensee was Jane Macauley, ownership and occupancy remained the same at least until 1895.
Always known as a local’s pub with at times a shady history and even having a ‘parlour’ back in the 1800’s ownership changed hands for the first time around 1900 also with a the new licensee, John Hughes.
During the 1980’s it became a popular venue for stand-up comedy and was one of the birthplaces of the Melbourne International Comedy Festival, known for where comedians went to watch comedy. In 2004 the pub downstairs was renovated, opening it up into one of Collingwood’s prized hotels winning the Australian Hotels Associations ‘State Award’ in 2007 for ‘Best Hotel Bar’ before becoming the ‘National Winner’ in 2008. A few slices of history that have contributed to The Pat’s local iconic reputation.
Where We Are Today
The Prince Patrick has been a grand old Collingwood pub since in 1887. Located on the north-east corner of Victoria Parade and the corner of Rokeby St we’re right on the edge of Melbourne’s CBD and only 1.5k from Melbourne’s sporting precinct. We pride ourselves with working closely with local and regional suppliers, we have 9 taps showcasing specialty brewing at its best and a wine list focused on small producers who are full of interesting surprises if you are keen to try something refreshingly different, which is as truly Melbourne as it gets… refreshingly different with plenty of surprises.